Recent searches

in

Connecting a Bitbucket repository as your source

Last modified: September 29th, 2026

On this page

Connecting a Bitbucket Git Repository to your Site allows you to work on your website files locally and sync your changes to CloudCannon. CloudCannon also syncs any file changes you make in CloudCannon back to Bitbucket.

To connect a Bitbucket Git Repository and start syncing files:

  1. Navigate to the Syncing page under Site Settings.
  2. Select the Bitbucket repository option from the provider dropdown.
  3. Click the Authorize button.

CloudCannon will redirect you to Bitbucket.

A screenshot of the Syncing page under Site Settings shows the Bitbucket repository option selected and an Authorize button.

To give CloudCannon access to your Bitbucket account:

  1. Log in to your Bitbucket account.
  2. Grant CloudCannon access to your Bitbucket account.

Bitbucket will redirect you back to the Syncing page, where you can select the Git Repository to connect. If you don't have a Git Repository for this Site yet, create one in Bitbucket and refresh the Syncing page.

When you click the Backup and Sync button, CloudCannon will replace any existing files on your Site with the contents of the selected Git Repository. To cancel the process, exit the page instead.

To connect your Git Repository and branch:

  1. Select your Git Repository from the Repository dropdown.
  2. Choose the Use an existing branch option or the Create a new branch option under the Branch Setup heading.
  3. Pick your branch from the Branch dropdown. If you are creating a new branch, pick the branch to copy from the Source branch dropdown and enter a name in the New branch name field.
  4. Click the Backup and Sync button.

CloudCannon will connect your Site to your Bitbucket Git Repository. CloudCannon pulls in any changes you push to your Git Repository, and automatically commits and pushes any changes you make in CloudCannon.

A screenshot of the Syncing page under Site Settings shows a Bitbucket Git Repository selected in the Repository dropdown.

Migrate to the new Bitbucket integration#

When CloudCannon releases a new version of its Bitbucket integration, the older version stays in use until you migrate. If your Organization authenticated Bitbucket with an older version, the Bitbucket page under Org Settings shows a New Bitbucket integration available notice below the page heading, above the tabs. The Syncing page under Site Settings also shows this notice for Sites that sync with Bitbucket. Migrating reauthorizes CloudCannon with your existing Bitbucket account, so your Sites keep syncing with the same Git Repositories.

To migrate to the new Bitbucket integration:

  1. Navigate to the Bitbucket page under the Files heading in your Org Settings.
  2. Make sure you are signed in to Bitbucket with the same Bitbucket account shown on the Authentication tab.
  3. Click the Upgrade Bitbucket integration button.
  4. Grant CloudCannon access to your Bitbucket account.

CloudCannon will return you to the Bitbucket page and remove the New Bitbucket integration available notice.

A screenshot of the Bitbucket page under Org Settings shows the New Bitbucket integration available notice with an Upgrade Bitbucket integration button, below the page heading and above the Authentication, Sites, and Danger Zone tabs.

Related Resources

Open in a new tab