Transfer the ownership of a site to another Organization.
Transferring a site will transfer all data and resources required to run that site. This may include SSL certificates, domain names, and other sites under the same domain.
Transfers are a two-step process; transfer requests and transfer confirmation.
To begin transferring a site:
Once the transfer request has been sent, the receiving account must accept the transfer. If you are an owner/administrator of the Organization you are transferring to, the transfer is automatically accepted.
To transfer to an Organization, you must first be a part of that team.
To accept a transfer:
To accept a transfer to an Organization, you must be an administrator or owner.
To cancel a transfer you have initiated:
A transfer cannot be canceled after it has been accepted. A transfer from the receiving account will need to be initiated to your account for it to be returned.
Sometimes there are unforeseen problems that arise in a team. This usually results in a support message to CloudCannon.
When resolving these ownership issues, we do our best to protect all parties involved during these processes. If we are asking for proof of ownership, it is well-intentioned.
Below is the information that is stored with a site:
We can’t transfer the files, but these are hopefully accessible from your end (through storage providers). The domain name can be transferred once the domain ownership is proven.
To prove to us you own the domain we will ask you to add a DNS record. Once the DNS record can be validated, we can transfer your domain to your new account.
To get your site on your new Organization, add your files and add the domain once transferred. All should be the same. If the old Organization was being used for the same sites, we are happy to sort something out for the costs. This will usually be a coupon for the time remaining on the old Organization.