Merging is a staight-forward way to push changes back to your publish branch.
The workflow for merging is as follows:
Pull requests provide an intermediate step for publishing.
Any pull requests that are not from the connected branch to publish branch are hidden in CloudCannon.
The workflow with this publish mode is:
Once a pull request has been made, you (or another editor) can then review it before merging.
Merge publishes the changes into the publish branch, while Close cancels the pull request. Changes made are retained after closing a pull request.